Government renews Uranium Mining Ban in British Columbia/Canada

24 April 2008, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

The Province will not support the exploration and development of uranium in British Columbia and is establishing a “no registration reserve” under the Mineral Tenure Act for uranium and thorium, Minister of State for Mining Kevin Krueger announced today.

The “no registration reserve” will ensure any future claims do not include the rights to uranium. Government will also ensure that all uranium deposits will remain undeveloped. These changes support the BC Energy Plan commitment of no nuclear power.

Full text: Press release by the British Columbia Government, 24 April 2008

Further information Keep B.C. Nuclear Free